Home
NFL 2K3 REVIEW

NFL 2K3 Review (Xbox)

NFL 2K3 “Double Take”
By Jim Cook and Aaron Holbert for Operation Sports

OVERVIEW
Jim
I am in control. That was the first thing I thought when I started playing NFL2K3. Instead of feeling like a spectator on defense, I felt like my gaming ability had a direct impact on the result of the play. Don’t get the idea that because the controls are tight that you don’t need strategy, in fact it is quite the opposite. Calling a good game, knowing your opponent’s weaknesses and your strengths is crucial to your success. The combination of control and strategy makes for the most immersive football gaming experience to date.

Aaron
That’s the thing about 2k3. It is the closest I have ever felt to playing real football. If you make a mistake, the game makes you pay for it. You wanna drop back 20 yards. You are gonna throw a lot of incompletions. Don’t want to read the safeties? You will get intercepted. Don’t want to follow your blocks? Get ready to average negative yards on the run. 2k3 actually makes you feel like you are calling a real game.

GAMEPLAY - OFFENSE
Jim
Control has been the defining factor of NFL2K3 since the beginning of the series. In earlier versions there were complaints that you had too much control of your running backs and for quicker backs this was probably true. The control is still very responsive but the defense is not as easily fooled by a quick change of direction as it was in the past. Running the ball and reading the holes is easily my favorite part of this game. The play on the line is incredible, it seems almost every play has a different look. It is not as simple as knowing that a certain play usually opens a hole between the guard and the tackle. The defensive pursuit is different on almost every play which keeps you on your toes in the running game. Looking for the holes and then hitting them gives me the feel that I am really playing the game.