Home
Feature Article
MLB 2K11 Developer Diary #3 - Pitching and Hitting

Hello sports fans,

My name is Sean Bailey.  Many of you probably remember my Developer Insight on Pitching vs. Hitting from last year. I am a designer for MLB 2K11 and I am back to discuss pitching and hitting today.  We have a talented, dedicated team here at 2K Sports and we worked hard to bring out the intricate details that make baseball such a challenging, yet fun sport.

Real Pitch Count, Real Results

Everyone, from announcers to managers to the pitchers themselves, refer to a pitch count in real life.  How many pitches has he thrown?  How many pitches can he throw today?  This important aspect of real-life baseball is introduced to the gaming world in MLB 2K11.  MLB 2K11 games feature believable and realistic pitch counts.  You will feel the frustrations of a 10-pitch at bat.  You will also feel the satisfaction of inducing a ground out in a one pitch at-bat.  This was accomplished in multiple ways. 

First, we had to make it more challenging to throw the ball exactly where you wanted to throw it.  In the past, I could take the worst pitcher and, as long as I was nailing the gestures, I could paint corners and rack up the strikeouts all day long.  This year, ratings differentiate players from each other more than ever before.  The control rating is where it all starts.  Strikeouts are a stat owned by those with nasty movement and velocity.  In a nutshell, guys like Felix Hernandez and Tim Lincecum are strikeout kings due to the ridiculous combination of both the movement and velocity that they display on their pitches.  However, for guys like Cliff Lee and Roy Halladay, it’s about control.  That’s why Cliff Lee and Roy Halladay walked fewer batters than any starters in baseball last season. 

Click here for hi-res