Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2003, 09:29 AM   #1
bionicgrov03
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
is this a new email scam?

I just opened my email inbox and saw this. It looks kinda shady.

____________________________________________________

Make all your federal tax payments the easy way. Enroll in EFTPS.

Visit eftps.gov by clicking here:
http://caymans.bigresponse.net/T/r.c...909931&L=78093

Check out the new features of EFTPS-OnLine Electronic Federal Tax Payment System.

EFTPS is the fast, accurate, and easy payment system provided FREE by the U.S. Department of Treasury for business and individual taxpayers to pay taxes online (http://caymans.bigresponse.net/T/r.c...909931&L=78093) or by phone.

The new online application features
+ 16 months of tax payment history
+ Make multiple payments without logging out
+ Schedule all 4 quarterly estimated payments in advance
+ Links to state payment sites
+ Change bank account information without completing a new enrollment
+ And more.

Once you are enrolled, you can make your payments 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, from office or home, by Internet or phone.

To enroll, go to eftps.gov by clicking here: http://caymans.bigresponse.net/T/r.c...909931&L=78093

All you need is your taxpayer identification number (EIN or SSN) and your banking information. It will take you about 5 minutes to complete the information online, and then you will receive a PIN by mail within 7-10 days along with instructions for obtaining your Internet Password.


The following message was sent to you as a permission-based subscriber to RB Express or one of our marketing partners. We will continue to bring you valuable offers on the products and services that interest you most.
If you wish to unsubscribe please email [email protected] with your email address in the subject line.

You are subscribed as: [email protected].

To unsubscribe by postal mail, please send your request to:

1158 26th St.
Suite 597
Santa Monica, CA 90403

___________________________________________________


All we need is your SSN or EID #? I hope nobody falls for that.


Thoughts anyone?

bionicgrov03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 09:32 AM   #2
QuikSand
lolzcat
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Annapolis, Md
Quote:
is this a new email scam?

Quote:
website that starts with "caymans..."

I think it's safe to declare this a scam.
QuikSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 09:34 AM   #3
Huckleberry
College Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Wow. They tell you to reach a government website by clicking on a link to their scam site. These guys get dirtier and dirtier every day.

But since it's out there anyway, I suggest you give it a test run.
__________________
The one thing all your failed relationships have in common is you.

The Barking Carnival (Longhorn-centered sports blog)
College Football Adjusted Stats and Ratings
Huckleberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 09:38 AM   #4
Huckleberry
College Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Hey wait a second. That site does indeed forward you to a .gov site. Looks legit. You should join immediately.
__________________
The one thing all your failed relationships have in common is you.

The Barking Carnival (Longhorn-centered sports blog)
College Football Adjusted Stats and Ratings
Huckleberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 09:46 AM   #5
Two Thirds Rectal Trout
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
I'm a programmer in a trust department. EFTPS IS a legitimate system to pay estimated taxes to the IRS. We have monthly transmissions that go out and gather up enrollements and payments so, I'm familiar with this somewhat..

Now... whether or not THIS particular place is legit.. not sure.
Two Thirds Rectal Trout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 09:57 AM   #6
Joe Canadian
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Seems interesting that their e-mail address is a hotmail one...
__________________
Steve Davis (Joe Canadian)
GO LEAFS GO!!
GO FOG DEVILS GO!!
LETS GO JAYS!!
EHM 2005 DYNASTY: A New Philosophy in Toronto!
Joe Canadian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 09:57 AM   #7
Ksyrup
This guy has posted so much, his fingers are about to fall off.
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: In Absentia
On a somewhat related note, I've ben using pop-up stopper for the past 6 months. According to our IT people, it now appears that I downloaded a "rigged" version that actually imbeds viruses, ads and crap like that on the computer, while still blocking regular pop ups. Some ad company apparently took pop up stopper, added a bunch of crap to it, and put it up on a site that looks like an official site, so that morons like me would download it.

Just a warning for those of you who use, or are considering using, pop up stopper. It looks like I'm going to have to get my hard drive re-imaged.
__________________
M's pitcher Miguel Batista: "Now, I feel like I've had everything. I've talked pitching with Sandy Koufax, had Kenny G play for me. Maybe if I could have an interview with God, then I'd be served. I'd be complete."
Ksyrup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 10:19 AM   #8
QuikSand
lolzcat
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Annapolis, Md
Quote:
Originally posted by Joe Canadian
Seems interesting that their e-mail address is a hotmail one...


I think that was the receipient's address... but you're Canadian, so what the heck do you care?
QuikSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2026, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.