PDA

View Full Version : Real life Kenpo: FrogMan's quest for the Black Belt

FrogMan
10-28-2005, 12:06 PM
As some of you who've interacted with me on AIM know, I've been practicing Kenpo Karate for a little while now. Now that I can of see a test for my brown belt lurking around the corner, I thought this might be cool to have a real life diary of the road still to travel to get to that coveted black belt.

I mean, when I started practicing, it was mostly to learn if my then 5 year old son was doing it right and because I needed some low impact sports/activity to move a bit and not become completely sedentary. My son's teacher then told me that an adult taking two classes a week could get to his black belt in 3 years. Now, more than 2 and a half year later, after taking little breaks here and there with the birth of our second son, and after starting at one class a week for almost the first year, I see this black belt dangling in front of my face, about I don't know, a year maybe a year and a half in the future, and I'm getting hyped up about that year that is to come.

I don't know how organized it will be, or what exactly I will be posting in here, but I got some ideas, like detailing some of the stuff we are learning, maybe even teach some of the basic self-defense techniques move by move, something that could even help me understand them better...

Anyway, that's the idea, if you have questions or ideas, post them.

I'll be back soon with some background on who I am, what are the basics behind my style of kenpo, that type of stuff.

Until then, take care.

FM

KevinNU7
10-28-2005, 12:23 PM
It would be great if you could find a website with picutres of a person doing a certain move and then posts the pictures here so that we would ahve a better idea of what move you are doing when you are talking about it.

FrogMan
10-28-2005, 12:28 PM