PDA

View Full Version : Text Sims: How much should the AI "Think"?

wade moore
11-15-2006, 09:18 PM
This is something I have thought about for awhile, but some of the recent discussion (particularly around FG's) with FOF2k7 has me thinking about it again.

NOTE: I don't mean this to address FOF2k7 and how it should work. I want to talk about text sims in general and how you think they should work, not what is "wrong" or "right" with FOF2k7.

So... Often in text sims questions about "AI" and "AI Flaws" come up. I will speak mostly to FOF because I have very little experience with the other text sim games.

When you have settings that you as the Coach/GM set - how often/to what extent should the AI interfere for your "Benefit"?

For instance. Let's say you have a setting where you tell the game to run every down in the last two minutes of the game if you're ahead by more than 6 points. Then let's say that you are up by 7 points, on your opponents 5 yard line, 1:59 left, they have 2 timeouts left, and it is 3rd and 25 due to penalties.

Should the AI override you? I think many people would want to pass in this situation and say the AI was "stupid" to run here, even if they have told it to.

Or, let's say that it's a baseball game. Again, i don't know how these games work, so I'm speaking theoretically...

Let's say you tell it always walk Barry Bonds. However, it is the top of the 9th, tie game, and bases are loaded, with 2 outs. Bonds comes up to the plate. Should the computer still walk them? Should tehy try to pitch to him? If he hits the homer, you'll be mad that the computer didn't walk him. If he walks him, you'll be mad when you lose by 1 run.

So. Should the game "do what you tell it to" or should it "Help you out"? If it should help you out, where do you draw the line?

It seems to me that many "AI Issues" revolve around this question and if I were a developer, I'd have a VERY hard time answering the question.

jbergey22
11-15-2006, 09:29 PM