Front Office Football Central

Front Office Football Central (http://forums.operationsports.com/fofc//index.php)
-   Baseball Text-Based Sims (http://forums.operationsports.com/fofc//forumdisplay.php?f=64)
-   -   OOTP 2008: What's the deal? (http://forums.operationsports.com/fofc//showthread.php?t=62565)

Mike Lowe 12-12-2007 05:59 PM

OOTP 2008: What's the deal?

Thinking of purchasing the $5 update and am hesitant...not because of the $5 but because this game has been a TOTAL NIGHTMARE when trying to get something up that resembles a true MLB modern-day experience.

I'm a vet of OOTP but I'm wondering how solid this roster file which is now included is and how difficult all of this Cato stuff is etc. Logos and uniforms are even a bit tricky the last time I checked.

I guess I'm just looking for some feedback as to how and get a modern day MLB league up and running with rosters, logos, uniforms, Cato history, and anything else I'm forgetting. Is there a league file not made by Cubby that is close to current rosters today?

Thanks!

Young Drachma 12-12-2007 06:35 PM

The boards over there have a few OOTP8 threads about this stuff...I didn't buy it because I wanted to support the team over there. I bought an upgrade copy today because my brother was curious about the game after watching me play for six months and so, I got that for him.

From what I see about OOTP8, it's no different than the other one. The roster file is okay from a basic perspective, but to me...it's not as complete as some of the other ones floating around there and it's surely not "ready to go" in that sense.

If you want a realistic experience of simming MLB-type players, PureSim is a much safer bet for you. I know it doesn't go as fast and for me, it wasn't flexible enough for the inevitable tinkering I do.

But...it's still the best option out there I think as an out of the box real rosters solution.

Balldog 12-12-2007 06:42 PM

Sounds like you are just paying for a patch.