View Single Post
Old 10-13-2016, 09:34 PM   #970
SackAttack
Head Coach
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Green Bay, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrescentMoonie View Post
It's not even the rubber, it's the knee on the left leg. Once the right foot crosses the plane of the left knee, it's a balk to go to first.

Nope.
Quote:
If a lefthanded or right-handed pitcher swings his free foot past the back edge of the pitcher’s rubber, he is required to pitch to the batter except to throw to second base on a pick-off play.

That's from the comment to Rule 6.02(a)(1). You'll find the same thing in the glossary entry I cited above. There is nowhere in the rule a requirement that the foot not cross the knee. It IS explicitly ruled that the foot may not cross the rubber.
SackAttack is offline   Reply With Quote