Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 07-25-2019, 11:54 AM   #1
tarcone
Coordinator

Interviewing to Start a HS Girls Golf Program--Advice Please

Our HS is starting a girls golf program this year. I applied and would love any advice any of you may have.

I have coached varsity girls teams before, but not individual sports.

I have looked online and found some practice plans and what not. But anything any of you had experience with would be greatly appreciated.

Im thinking the skill level will be low. I dont know of many golfers in our district.
Also, my game is gone. I started playing when I was a youngster but havent played much in the last 19 years.

The word is Fight! Fight! Fight! For Iowa

FOFC 30 Dollar Challenge Champion-OOTP '15

tarcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 12:26 PM   #2
thesloppy
Pro Starter

Where would you practice/play? Are there other (girls) HS golf teams in your district or is this a first?
Last edited by thesloppy : Today at 05:35 PM.
thesloppy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 12:37 PM   #3
tarcone
Coordinator

We play at a course about 20 minutes away from town. There are other teams in our conference and district. Not many though.

Old 07-25-2019, 02:14 PM   #4
JonInMiddleGA
Hall Of Famer

I can only speak to individual sports in Georgia with any knowledge but, here, the role of those coaches is generally more organizational (with perhaps motivational being second) rather than instructional.

There are some exceptions to that I'm sure but by & large those sports are dominated by players who train & learn on their own, play year-round in the local/state/national alphabet soup organization, etc etc. HS coaches are in charge of making sure they have transportation lined up for the meet, settling arguments about where to eat after the match, etc etc.