Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Dynasty Reports
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 03-15-2012, 07:30 AM   #1
Atocep
Coordinator

My Experience Coaching a 9-10 Year Old Baseball Team in a Rigged League

I'll start with a bit of background on what went on behind the scenes before we got to our first practice. This is my first attempt at any sort of dynasty and I'm pulling a lot of this initial info from memory. So you have to bear with me here.

Here's my initial post from last year about the team that was probably made at the peak of my frustration that sheds some light on the situation our team is in heading into this season.

Front Office Football Central - View Single Post - Youth Baseball League Rant

What to do with This Team

Last season was rough. We had 1 coach with limited baseball knowledge, 1 coach with limited time, and I ended up volunteering to help out a bit and coached 3rd base. It was a completely new group of people for me so I really just kept my mouth shut and followed the script. That script led us to not winning a single game. We had one travel game that was blatantly stolen from us by the ump, but in most of the rest we weren't all that competitive and it was frustrating.

I spent most of the winter trying to decide what to do with my son and this team. I knew the coach with limited time wasn't going to be back and I doubted the coach with limited knowledge (Mark) would be back since his son didn't seem to enjoy baseball all that much. With a few months between the end of the season and when I actually started thinking about what to do with this team I started to convince myself that the talent we have isn't all that bad. We had several 8 year olds, two 9 year olds, and one 10 year old on our team. We did lose 3 to moves, but the outgoing talent wasn't all that great to be perfectly honest. So I decided I was going to coach the team.