Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > FOF9, FOF8, and TCY Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 05-21-2023, 09:58 AM   #1
HansMellman
n00b

Game CSVs and Interrogator

Anyone here familiar with the nuances of the additional CSVs produced by the GStelmack suite's Interrogator?

I'm pretty new to the game (less than a year) and even newer to CSV manipulation etc (the last couple of months) but there are a few things I'd like to try and do just for the leagues I'm in to share a bit of the story within the stats and add some colour.

For the most part I've been okay figuring some things out by I've hit a snag that I'd appreciate any advice on...I thought I'd try to figure out something like 'Pts per Drive' for the league...so using the 'drive_results.csv' I was able to get the total amount of drives per team for the regular season (once I'd eliminated the pre/post season thanks to the game IDs in the game_information.csv) and then took the 'Points_Scored' column from the standings.csv and thought that I was making good progress...then I realised that obviously that Points Scored column is including defensive touchdowns etc and isn't limited to offense. I needed to try something else.

I went back to the 'drive_results.csv' and assigned a 'Drive_Score' column to each drive based on the entry in the 'drive_result' ie. If drive_result contained a touchdown then drive_score would have 7 in it, FG would have 3 etc etc. However, when totalling that column, the numbers I'm met with are inaccurate and I'm failing to see where the discrepancies are being generated.

I'd deduced that the drive result codes are as follows

Code:
drive_result = { 9 : 'Touchdown', 10 : 'Missed FG', 8 : 'Field Goal', 1 : 'Punt', 6 : 'Interception', 2 : 'Downs', 4 : 'Game', 5 : 'Fumble', 3 : 'Half', 7 : 'Safety', }