Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 04-20-2016, 07:40 AM   #1
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist

Wifi Extenders?

We're having trouble with our wireless network not reaching parts of the second floor of our home very well. I have zero experience with wireless extenders. Are they reliable? Any particular ones recommended or to be avoided?

Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 07:49 AM   #2
digamma
Torchbearer

My own experience was about 4 years ago and we found them to extend the range but sometimes at a reduced signal. Technology may have improved since then and I honestly don't remember the brand we used.
digamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 07:55 AM   #3
Dutch
"Dutch"

I used them years ago to get around my kitchen appliances and it worked great. D-link back then...
Dutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 07:56 AM   #4
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist

Quote:
Originally Posted by digamma View Post
My own experience was about 4 years ago and we found them to extend the range but sometimes at a reduced signal.
Reduced signal throughout the house, or just out at the fringes?
Old 04-20-2016, 08:02 AM   #5
digamma
Torchbearer

To some extent everywhere, but most notable at the extendable areas.
digamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:13 AM   #6
stevew
Hall Of Famer

How fancy/new is your router? I have a modest home but once I got a brand new router that seemed to help.
stevew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:42 AM   #7
Easy Mac

Sometimes moving it slightly helps with the signal.

Do you need the signal for ipads/tablets, or other things that can't be plugged in by ethernet? If its like a Roku or entertainment devices like that, powerline adapters could be a way to go.