Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 10-01-2019, 02:20 PM   #1
Edward64
Head Coach

Car Insurance question

My kid drove the car into the side of the garage. Couple estimates range from $1,700 to $2,600 and we are considering whether to use the insurance or pay out of pocket.

The 2 concerns about using the insurance is how this will impact our premiums and for how long.

Does anyone have any experience or suggestions?

Last edited by Edward64 : 10-01-2019 at 02:21 PM.
Edward64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 02:48 PM   #2
Lathum
Favored Bitch #1

I worked in insurance for several years. Basically the answer to your question is that there is no way to know the answer to either, but most likely the premiums will go up unless you have some accident forgiveness that would apply.

These insurance companies have complex algorithms to determine your rates. I used to get asked that all the time, and the answer was always there isn't a way to know until your policy renews. Insurance premiums are priced based on risk, so it all depends on how much of a risk they think you are. Most companies your rates wouldn't change until your policy period ended.

At the end of the day it comes down to your comfort level. You could also file the claim through your current insurance then change companies and hope to get a lower premium.
Lathum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 02:50 PM   #3
Arles
Grey Dog Software