Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Baseball Text-Based Sims
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 12-12-2007, 05:59 PM   #1
Mike Lowe
College Prospect

OOTP 2008: What's the deal?

Thinking of purchasing the $5 update and am hesitant...not because of the $5 but because this game has been a TOTAL NIGHTMARE when trying to get something up that resembles a true MLB modern-day experience.

I'm a vet of OOTP but I'm wondering how solid this roster file which is now included is and how difficult all of this Cato stuff is etc. Logos and uniforms are even a bit tricky the last time I checked.

I guess I'm just looking for some feedback as to how and get a modern day MLB league up and running with rosters, logos, uniforms, Cato history, and anything else I'm forgetting. Is there a league file not made by Cubby that is close to current rosters today?

Thanks!

Mike Lowe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:35 PM   #2
Young Drachma
Dark Cloud

The boards over there have a few OOTP8 threads about this stuff...I didn't buy it because I wanted to support the team over there. I bought an upgrade copy today because my brother was curious about the game after watching me play for six months and so, I got that for him.

From what I see about OOTP8, it's no different than the other one. The roster file is okay from a basic perspective, but to me...it's not as complete as some of the other ones floating around there and it's surely not "ready to go" in that sense.

If you want a realistic experience of simming MLB-type players, PureSim is a much safer bet for you. I know it doesn't go as fast and for me, it wasn't flexible enough for the inevitable tinkering I do.

But...it's still the best option out there I think as an out of the box real rosters solution.
Old 12-12-2007, 06:42 PM   #3
Balldog
Pro Rookie

Sounds like you are just paying for a patch.