Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 05-05-2019, 11:34 AM   #1
GrantDawg
World Champion Mis-speller

D&D 5e versus 3.5

I am about to make the jump, and I was wondering how many of have, and what is your opinion about the differences?

GrantDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 01:40 PM   #2
CarterNMA
Mascot

Why not 1e? I've been DMing a 1e campaign for the last 18 months or so. We are running 1e because the vast majority of us played that when we were kids. You can get all the books in PDF via RPGNow.com so there are no barriers to the "finding" the old books.

One of the critiques I've heard about the newer versions is that they are more roll-playing than role-playing.

Late DISCLAIMER: I've never played anything after 2e so I am not sure what the differences are between 3, 3.5, 4, and 5.
CarterNMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 01:43 PM   #3
thesloppy
Pro Starter

I used to play a ton of 3.5e over the years, and made the jump to 5e a couple years ago. It will be a relatively painless and positive experience if you've played before with any regularity.

I think 5e works a lot more efficiently. They streamlined a lot of things so that there's less of a feel that there's an explicit table for every action and the changes should be totally easy to grasp if you have experience with 3.5 and video games (which obviously had a lot of influence on 5e).

One of the big changes that works as a good example of 5e mechanics is probably the general idea of advantage and disadvantage: you're making a single ability/combat check by rolling two D20s and taking either the best value of those two rolls (advantage) or the worst (disadvantage). If you can understand that then everything else should be similarly simple.
Last edited by thesloppy : Today at 05:35 PM.

Last edited by thesloppy : 05-05-2019 at 01:49 PM.