Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 01-22-2005, 01:04 PM   #1
Shaun Sullivan
PureSim

OT - New Computer Advice

I have now lived for almost 3 years on my 1.9ghz 512mb Alienware PC. It has been a GREAT machine and I am considering buying another from Alienware (I just hate to wait 30+ days to get it -- when I want something I want it now!) but I am also exploring other options.

Any of you guys have any advice on either
A) Great PC Deals

B) How difficult it would be to build my own? (I have plenty of experience istalling video cards, hard drives, memory etc...)

OK don't laugh, but since I'm impatient I am considering option C:

C) Go to Best Buy and pick up a stock 3.x ghz Gateway and then add gobs of memory and a PCI Express video card....Maybe I am too impulsive.

I have the new computer urge big time any advice would be appreciated.

Shaun Sullivan
PureSim Baseball
www.puresim.com

Shaun Sullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 01:19 PM   #2
QuikSand
lolzcat

There are regularly good deals on Dell computers, with build-your-own options. Plenty of people, even power-users, seem to begrudgingly agree that they put together a pretty mean deal on their packages. I strongly suspect they will beat the pants off anything you can load up at Best Buy or order from Alienware.

I'm shopping for a new poker system, and am about to pull the trigger on a Dell from this site -- Celeron-based system, with 17" LCD monitor and 80G HD for under $500... count me in!

Also... keep tabs on the Hot Deals forum at FatWallet. Lots of stuff shared there, and usually feedback on whether the deal is really a good one, which I often find handy.

Last edited by QuikSand : 01-22-2005 at 01:22 PM.
QuikSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 01:22 PM   #3
sterlingice
Hall Of Famer