Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 03-14-2006, 09:38 PM   #1
FrogMan
Hattrick Moderator

I didn't drop it this time (and it paid off!)

I've been practicing kenpo karate for almost three years now and practicing with a bo staff for about six months now. I started practicing both karate and the bo because of my son. First karate because I wanted to be able to understand what he was doing then the bo because he picked that weapon among the few weapons classes he could take and I was able to tag along in his class (in the middle of a bunch of 8 to 12 year olds ).

About a month ago, I entered my first competition ever, whereas my son has been doing karate competitions for almost three years now. Even though he's been doing them for a while now, he'd never presented a weapon kata and I thought I'd show the example and enter both of us with our bo kata, that we learned together.

Some of you may even remember me mentionning my first competition in the "what do you look like" thread. Turned out that I was kind of nervous and I ended up dropping the bo midway through the kata, thus being disqualified.

Well, we entered another competition this past weekend and we both presented the same bo kata with me adding a tiny bit into it. Well, I didn't drop it this time, as implies the subject, and yep it paid off. 1st PLACE in the 30-39 category!!!

That's the trophy I brough back home for that first place. I'm quite proud of it (first place not really the shiny trophy) and I'm hoping it will motivate my son to keep on practicing with me so he can get better and maybe bring one himsel. He finished about midway through 9 or so competitors but he's really come a long way since he's started practicing in last September.

Anyway, I don't really practice with the bo to compete. Only winging it around makes me forget about every little problem I might have.