Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Dynasty Reports
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 08-01-2015, 05:48 PM   #1
Radii
Head Coach

Rocksmith 2014 - Learning Guitar

sabotai's dynasty (Sab learns music (Guitar and Piano) - Front Office Football Central) rekindled an interest in music for me. I've played guitar off and on for years, but at a very low level. I'll play for a few weeks, only playing stuff I'm already ok at, and then quit. So for most things I might as well be a complete newbie.

I bought Rocksmith and the cable right before the last steam sale. I originally bought an acoustic-electric, but Rocksmith really does seem to work much better with electrics, so I bought my first electric guitar about a month ago. I also spent a couple hundred dollars on DLC during the last steam sale, b/c that's what I do, so I've spent a fair bit of money and want to make sure I get my money's worth out of this.

Current Skill Level

As far as my current skill level, I'm comfortable playing chords, I can switch smoothly between all basic chords, I'm mostly comfortable with barre chords. Uh, thats about it! I found a comfort zone that would let me play a few pop songs and sing along here and there and never left it. I've never learned scales, picking a single note on a single string is borderline rocket science.

I've been playing rocksmith for a couple months, and there are some songs that I get high scores on right away playing the rhythm path (Sweet Home Alabama, everything Oasis) b/c they fit entirely into my limited existing comfort zone. The second you add even the most basic riff (Pearl Jam's Jeremy) I fall apart. Songs that are heavy in power chords (Green Day) I get decent scores on but if I make a mistake I might get flustered and fuck up for awhile. Or, I end up on the wrong fret or wrong strings and am still learning to move up and down the fretboard without looking.

Practice Plan