Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 06-06-2016, 12:11 AM   #1
Atocep
Coordinator

Youth Sports Parents are Awful People #10,783

This is my first year not coaching son at any level of baseball and I thoroughly enjoy not coaching and having more of a Dad/Son relationship with my son rather than Dad/Coach/Son/Player relationship.

What I hated as a coach the most was dealing with parents (not uncommon). They're truly awful in most instances. It was easy early on when my son was younger, but as my son got older the complaints from parents over playing time and whatnot got louder and more viscous. It really is what made it easy for me to step aside as a coach and strictly become a parent and I haven't looked back or regretted the decision one bit.

Unfortunately, I'm finding parents aren't easy to avoid. My son is playing on a 14U team in an organization that has teams at all age levels. This is his 4th year playing in this organization and he has generally loved it. Until this year. He's playing with a group of kids that seem to be out for themselves. If they're not playing, they're pouting on the bench. If they're playing, they're not giving much effort. They don't really support one another at all. Particularly frustrating because this is a very talented group of kids, but it's sucked the fun out of the game for my son.