Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Dynasty Reports
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 04-15-2016, 01:48 AM   #1
Northwood_DK
College Benchwarmer

[FM16] U.S.D Novese, The legacy of Vittorio Pozzo

After reading the brilliant story by Abe Sargent about the raise of UD Melilla I wanted to give LLM a shot.

I have never stated this low in the divisions and with an amateur team before so there will be a learning curve and plenty of mistakes.

I last played the FM14 so this is my first attempt on FM16 and the new and updated tactics upset witch will not help either.

So what I am trying to say is that this might be a bumpy run.

Enjoy.

Northwood_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 01:49 AM   #2
Northwood_DK
College Benchwarmer

The legacy of Vittorio Pozzo, Part I

I find the history of the Italian soccer leagues fascinating and have spent hours on Wikipedia and obscure Italian websites (thanks google translate) reading stories about raises and falls of long forgotten Italian football powers. A deep dive in the thesefootballtimes.co calcio pages is also highly recommended.
I knew I wanted to write a story about a team from the lower Italian leagues and in my hunt for an interesting narrative I came over the name Vittorio Pozzo and the story of the 1921-22 season.
That was the season when Italy crowned two champions!!

The story starts like this.

Vittorio Pozzo was born in 1886 (84 years before me, to the day) in Turin, Italy. He was born into a family with enough money to give him a chance to travel Europe after he had finished school in Turin.
The already football interested youngster sucked up all the knowledge he could about the beautiful game from around Europe. He traveled to Manchester to go to school (and play football) and on his way back to Italy in 1905 he stopped in Switzerland be become a professional footballer for Grasshopper Club Zürich.