Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 08-23-2015, 08:27 AM   #1
digamma
Torchbearer

Audio Editor (Remove Loud Voice from Recording)

Shot in the dark here that FOFC's collective knowledge may be able to help.

I'm trying to edit an audio recording (well the audio from a video recording) to try to isolate someone speaking/singing in the background. There's a loud voice in the foreground which ideally I could remove.

I found an editor online called audacity, which gets high marks and have been able to import the clip into the audacity system, but I run out of steam from there. The audacity forums get pretty technical. I'm a relative noob.

Does anyone know if what I'm trying to do is even possible? Or possible without really high tech equipment or expertise?

(BTW, there's nothing nefarious going on. My father in law passed away recently and I'm trying to isolate his voice on something for the family.)

digamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 10:12 AM   #2
JPhillips
General Manager

Have you tried a multi-band equalizer to remove the frequency of the voice?
Old 08-23-2015, 11:44 AM   #3
JonInMiddleGA
Hall Of Famer

I love Audacity, not entirely sure about it for something of this nature. A quick googling suggests to me that it could work okay under the right set of circumstances, I'm just not sure you have those conditions.

This tutorial does a pretty good job of breaking it down into manageable steps I think. I'm not at all techie with this stuff & I understood the majority of what was being talked about here.
Tutorial - Vocal Removal and Isolation - Audacity Manual
Old 08-23-2015, 07:59 PM   #4
digamma
Torchbearer