Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Dynasty Reports
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 09-13-2016, 01:58 PM   #1
nilodor
College Benchwarmer

Yet another person learning Python - 100 m Simulator

So at the risk of the dynasty forum becoming a python forum, here goes another dynasty thread involving someone learning python.

Some background, I am not a programmer, I had to take 2 programming courses 15 years ago as part of my 1st year engineering courses. After my 3rd year I went on internship, for the next 16 months I was supposed to spend about 50% of my time on data entry, manually parsing files of data that had millions of lines of data (i.e. larger than excel could handle). I wound up teaching myself vba and after a month I was able to complete my task for the year. This is when I really learned to appreciate the power of programming.

One of the things I do at work is review the interpretation of instrumentation. This involves looking at lots of data, as well as training people to process and interpret data. This takes a lot of my time. I have written some vba to help with processing data, however, it's not ideal and there is more data than even excel can handle. Ultimately I'd like to create some kind of gui to manage our specialized instrumentation data and create presentations for clients.

I've also been building an arduino weather station for my dad for christmas. I'd like to write some code and prepare some graphs to support this.

Naturally I've decided to learn python by building a track and field simulator. What I'll try and detail are my many failures at trying to become a better coder and to develop a piece of software that will hopefully help me with my other endeavors. I welcome any comments and suggestions you have along the way.