Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > FOF8/TCY Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2014, 07:58 AM   #201
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
Oh, and I've fixed the names.

update player set player_name=TRIM(player_name)

then

update player set player_name = replace(player_name,' ',' ');
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 07:58 AM   #202
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
(the second one has three spaces in the first quote)
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 08:08 AM   #203
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Nicely done Ben, that's almost exactly what I just emailed you.
The only thing now is to have the priority list import ignore DOBs like the updated version has. I emailed you the php file to replace and it should be good to go.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 08:10 AM   #204
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben E Lou View Post
Am I correct that I'd have to re-enter all of the draft picks if I re-imported?

Yes, but I don't think a re-import is necessary now with the steps above.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 09:14 AM   #205
chinaski
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Any chance on getting bar ratings for dispersal drafts? Sorry if its been covered, I cant find it.
chinaski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 09:24 AM   #206
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinaski View Post
Any chance on getting bar ratings for dispersal drafts? Sorry if its been covered, I cant find it.

Yes, bars are displayed for players when doing an allocation or dispersal draft - the 53 round draft of existing players to start a league. The commish just needs to sim past the draft and export to get the ratings file to use for the draft.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 09:27 AM   #207
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
I think he means the individual skill bars like screen passing, etc., which cannot be displayed.
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 09:55 AM   #208
chinaski
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben E Lou View Post
I think he means the individual skill bars like screen passing, etc., which cannot be displayed.

Yeah what Ben said. What prevents them from being displayed?
chinaski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:00 AM   #209
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben E Lou View Post
I think he means the individual skill bars like screen passing, etc., which cannot be displayed.

Not for a rookie draft but they should be displayed for the allocation draft, if they aren't then it's because Conscriptor can't find an attribute that should be there in the player_to_attribute table. It works with the latest, but perhaps the first working version used for WOOF didn't have it right yet?
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:00 AM   #210
wade moore
lolzcat
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: williamsburg, va
"Zero out priority of players with same position when selecting a player:" appears to not be working.

In the WOOF draft for round two I loaded up a handful of CBs.

It took a CB in round 2.

I didn't go back to Conscriptor. In round 3, it took a CB.

I logged into Conscriptor, it still had a CB active in my priority list.
__________________
Text Sports Network - Bringing you statistical information for several FOF MP leagues in one convenient site

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subby
Maybe I am just getting old though, but I am learning to not let perfect be the enemy of the very good...
wade moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:02 AM   #211
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
It can display the bars even though we don't have current ratings? (Remember, we only have future potential.)
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:02 AM   #212
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
With rookie drafts the bars are team specific. And ratings aren't exported by FOF7 directly. I'm going to look into allowing GMs to import their own view of rookie bars from an Extractor run that is visible only to themselves during a rookie draft.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:04 AM   #213
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben E Lou View Post
It can display the bars even though we don't have current ratings? (Remember, we only have future potential.)

Yes. You'll just see one bar not both orange and blue bars.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:12 AM   #214
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Here's an example... (of player card from an allocation draft. Regular draft will not have these ratings bars)

Last edited by WheelsVT : 01-04-2014 at 10:23 AM.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:19 AM   #215
chinaski
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
sweet!
chinaski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:25 AM   #216
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by wade moore View Post
"Zero out priority of players with same position when selecting a player:" appears to not be working.

In the WOOF draft for round two I loaded up a handful of CBs.

It took a CB in round 2.

I didn't go back to Conscriptor. In round 3, it took a CB.

I logged into Conscriptor, it still had a CB active in my priority list.

Sorry Wade. I'm seeing the same thing on my test site. Troubleshooting now.

Edit: Found it. My logic was reversed on testing for a staff draft for that line. Ben, change line 83 in functions.inc.php from
"if ($staff)" to "if (!$staff)". Main link updated with the patched file.

Last edited by WheelsVT : 01-04-2014 at 10:36 AM.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 12:08 PM   #217
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
A team ran out of time and got skipped. Draft setting is for BPA/Scout pick.
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 12:14 PM   #218
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
Force Pick not working either. It re-skips the pick.
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 03:41 PM   #219
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelsVT View Post
Updated to 2.3

Fixed bug found in my testing where if draft set to make pick on expiration and player queue and/or BPA auto-pick is turned on for that team and list empty and time expires or forced then the pick is skipped instead of a player picked by force.

Removed requirement of matching DOB on priority list import since rookies do not have DOB exported currently in FOF7.


Yes, I saw that the force pick could fail and have fixed it already I believe (see above).

If you aren't running the latest then the workaround is to unskip the pick, and try the "force pick" button or if that doesn't work make the pick yourself.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 03:48 PM   #220
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Another alternate to get force_pick to work is to replace team.inc.php with the one from the latest version.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 04:54 PM   #221
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelsVT View Post
Another alternate to get force_pick to work is to replace team.inc.php with the one from the latest version.
OK. I will try this.
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 09:57 AM   #222
chinaski
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
In the latest version were using over at WOOF, the SMS alert isnt working for me. My options are set correctly, but ive never received a text for any of my picks. Using Verizon.
chinaski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 11:06 AM   #223
TRO
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Louisburg, KS
FWIW, SMS is working for me on AT&T.
__________________
TRA, the Royal Ape
TRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 08:10 PM   #224
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinaski View Post
In the latest version were using over at WOOF, the SMS alert isnt working for me. My options are set correctly, but ive never received a text for any of my picks. Using Verizon.

Try sending yourself a text by sending an email to [10 digit phone number]@vtext.com and see if you get it.

If you do not - then I need to update the SMS gateway to one that works, but I'm pretty sure I tested the Verizon one with some family members.

Most likely you will get the text which would indicate the reason it isn't working for the WOOF is the host server isn't reliably handling the way Conscriptor is set to send email. This happens often unfortunately and it's why there are a couple different admin options that Ben could try to find an email notification method that works with the server the draft is running on. If none of them test out reliably enough then its best to disable notification rather than have GMs relying on it and it not coming through.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 09:38 PM   #225
chinaski
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelsVT View Post
Try sending yourself a text by sending an email to [10 digit phone number]@vtext.com and see if you get it.

If you do not - then I need to update the SMS gateway to one that works, but I'm pretty sure I tested the Verizon one with some family members.

Most likely you will get the text which would indicate the reason it isn't working for the WOOF is the host server isn't reliably handling the way Conscriptor is set to send email. This happens often unfortunately and it's why there are a couple different admin options that Ben could try to find an email notification method that works with the server the draft is running on. If none of them test out reliably enough then its best to disable notification rather than have GMs relying on it and it not coming through.

Ok, sent the email and the text came thru about 10 minutes later.

Last edited by chinaski : 01-06-2014 at 09:39 PM.
chinaski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 01:39 PM   #226
A-Husker-4-Life
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Nebraska
So will the Draft app work with FOF7?
__________________
JJ Smitty Owner of the
Omaha Arrowheads C.F.L.
- Come by and check us out.
A-Husker-4-Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 02:13 PM   #227
sjshaw
lolzcat
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Feature request if you get a chance: Be able to view "everybody but K/P" in the "All Players" view.
sjshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 04:38 PM   #228
chinaski
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjshaw View Post
Feature request if you get a chance: Be able to view "everybody but K/P" in the "All Players" view.

+1,000,000
chinaski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 07:21 PM   #229
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by A-Husker-4-Life View Post
So will the Draft app work with FOF7?

Yes. However, the staff draft has not been "league tested" yet.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 07:15 AM   #230
QuikSand
lolzcat
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Annapolis, Md
So... really love the draft tool, so glad you have taken up the task of keeping it fresh.

Minor request for the queue. When I use the handy "Quick Add" tool to place a new guy into my priority list, it churns that out and then sends me to the Selections page. That seems really odd - I *always* want to stay on the Priority page after I do that, and that seems like a smarter default to me.
QuikSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 01:32 PM   #231
sjshaw
lolzcat
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuikSand View Post
So... really love the draft tool, so glad you have taken up the task of keeping it fresh.

Minor request for the queue. When I use the handy "Quick Add" tool to place a new guy into my priority list, it churns that out and then sends me to the Selections page. That seems really odd - I *always* want to stay on the Priority page after I do that, and that seems like a smarter default to me.

Agreed on all counts!
__________________
Hollywood Media Whores
FOBL CHAMPION 2007 2020 2035
sjshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 02:37 PM   #232
chinaski
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
So after a few times of being auto'd in the allocation draft over at WOOF, I would love to have the ability to control the parameters of the scout pick.. like being able to set the range of experience of potential draftees. So for an example, only draft 0-6 exp guys, highest potential etc.

Probably not worth your time Wheels, since this only applies to allocation drafts, but im sure most people would love to have this ability. Who wants a 16 year ILB in the 11th round?! GRRRR!!!!
chinaski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 04:46 PM   #233
TRO
College Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Louisburg, KS
While on the subject of feature requests, I think it would be nice to be able to set yourself on auto-pick for a set number of selections.

For instance, I may have 3 picks in the 3rd round and I'd like to set my draft list to take care of the first 2 picks but would like to come off of the auto-pick so I can re-evaluate before the next pick.

Thanks for all your work!
__________________
TRA, the Royal Ape

Last edited by TRO : 01-11-2014 at 04:51 PM.
TRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 11:15 PM   #234
w24olfpack
Mascot
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelsVT View Post
Yes. However, the staff draft has not been "league tested" yet.

Wheels
Hit me up. We'll be ready to go as soon as TFL gets our files from Jim.
w24olfpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 07:01 AM   #235
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjshaw View Post
Feature request if you get a chance: Be able to view "everybody but K/P" in the "All Players" view.
Should be an easy add that I'll put in the next update.

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuikSand View Post
Minor request for the queue. When I use the handy "Quick Add" tool to place a new guy into my priority list, it churns that out and then sends me to the Selections page. That seems really odd - I *always* want to stay on the Priority page after I do that, and that seems like a smarter default to me.
Also should be an easy fix.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinaski View Post
...ability to control the parameters of the scout pick.. like being able to set the range of experience of potential draftees. So for an example, only draft 0-6 exp guys, highest potential etc.

Probably not worth your time Wheels, since this only applies to allocation drafts, but im sure most people would love to have this ability. Who wants a 16 year ILB in the 11th round?! GRRRR!!!!
Yes, this would be a little more work to implement, and likely not worth it. Perhaps if I get bored.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRO View Post
While on the subject of feature requests, I think it would be nice to be able to set yourself on auto-pick for a set number of selections.
For instance, I may have 3 picks in the 3rd round and I'd like to set my draft list to take care of the first 2 picks but would like to come off of the auto-pick so I can re-evaluate before the next pick.
I would like something like this feature too. Good idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by w24olfpack View Post
(RE Staff Draft testing) Wheels
Hit me up. We'll be ready to go as soon as TFL gets our files from Jim.
Ok. PM on its way.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 07:29 AM   #236
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelsVT View Post
Yes. However, the staff draft has not been "league tested" yet.

More to the point - If someone out there has time, it'd be a big help if you could run a staff draft and compare what coaches the utility says are amenable and see if it matches in-game. I believe it's implemented correctly, but it needs confirmation testing.

You could do this from a single-player career even and just run it multiple times selecting different coaches. I just haven't had time to do this. I'd hate for a league draft to run and the import fail because a coach actually couldn't have been picked.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 08:26 AM   #237
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
The CCFL is live with the conversion. I'll be ending the 2037 season at some point in the next 24 hours, then beginning 2038 and setting up the staff draft very soon thereafter. It could be as soon as this evening.
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 08:27 AM   #238
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
Dola--we have some openings if anyone wants to jump in on the first converted league to get movin'.

CCFL: Conversion To FOF7 Is Complete. Join To Play FOF7 MP Now! - Front Office Football Central
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:36 PM   #239
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
Installing for CCFL staff draft tests now
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:40 PM   #240
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
Oh..actually no...we need to do the stadium/retain staff stage first, because that is going to affect who is amenable.
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 08:29 AM   #241
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
Important staff draft question: if I have a HC under contract and I sign someone else to be HC, my HC is released into the pool in the game. Does it work that way in Conscriptor?
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 06:55 PM   #242
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben E Lou View Post
Important staff draft question: if I have a HC under contract and I sign someone else to be HC, my HC is released into the pool in the game. Does it work that way in Conscriptor?

The way it's set to work in Conscriptor is a "fired" transaction is recorded in the transaction table, and he is marked as unemployed with 0 years on his contract.

So yes, he would (or should) show up in the pool of available coaches.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 03:34 PM   #243
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
Attention leagues converting from FOF2k7 to 7.0:
Ben and I found that converted league files differ from 7.0's format and so will 7.0a. So until 7.0a is actually released and I can code against it follow the instructions below prior to a draft import so that the files are recognized by the utility.

Replace the first line in your rookies file with
Quote:
Player_ID, Last_Name, First_Name, Position_Group, College, Height, Weight, Dash, Solecismic, Strength, Agility, Jump, Position_Specific, Developed, Grade

Or for a staff draft replace the first line in your staff file with
Quote:
Staff_ID, Last_Name, First_Name, Current_Team, Role, Primary_Group, Salary, Player_Development, Young_Player_Development, Motivation, Discipline, Play_Calling, Strength_Training, Conditioning, Intelligence, Scouting_Ability, Interviewing, Age, Retired, Years_on_Contract, Suitable_Head_Coach, Suitable_Offensive_Coordinator, Suitable_Defensive_Coordinator, Suitable_Assistant_Coach, Suitable_Strength_Coordinator
and replace the first line in your transactions file with
Quote:
Stage, Player_ID/Staff_ID/Round, Transaction, Team, Position_Group/Year, Money, Years/Original_Position/Destination_City, Original_Team/Destination_Position/Misc.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 09:33 AM   #244
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
I'm using the snow day today to run through some staff draft confirmation testing. The next update (2.4) will include any fixes, and will be posted shortly after FOF7.0a is released when I can match the headers to FOF's new format.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 03:50 PM   #245
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
I've run into enough issues today to say wait until I update following the pending FOF7 patch to run a staff draft.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 04:21 AM   #246
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
The draft csv is generating a blank file even though 224 players have been picked:
CCFL Front Office Football Conscriptor version 2.3.1
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 04:38 AM   #247
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
Code:
select round((pick_id-16.5)/32)+1 AS draftround, mod(pick_id-1,32)+1 as draftpick, t.in_game_id as team, player_in_game_id as playerid FROM pick p JOIN team t on t.team_id=p.team_id JOIN player pl on pl.player_id=p.player_id WHERE pick_id>0 ORDER BY pick_id
.
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 05:20 PM   #248
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
That doesn't look like code from analyzer.php at all though is similar to...
What happens when you run "select * from pick, team, player where
pick.team_id = team.team_id and player.player_id = pick.player_id order by pick_id"?
Do you get a joined list of players?
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 05:29 PM   #249
Ben E Lou
Morgado's Favorite Forum Fascist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Greensboro, NC
That is not code from analyzer.php. That is the query you need to return the format that FOF needs for importing a draft class. I ran that query, exported the results as a CSV, and imported into FOF.
__________________
The media don't understand the kinds of problems and pressures 54 million come wit'!
Ben E Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 02:58 PM   #250
WheelsVT
High School JV
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GA
I had the code right, just missed a $ in front of the "staff" flag variable on line 27 of analyzer.php. Update is coming soon.
WheelsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.