Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > FOF9, FOF8, and TCY Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 10-26-2018, 06:41 AM   #1
shanklingill
n00b

How do player ratings work on this game?

Hey all,

I am relatively new to this game, and I am struggling to get my head around how the player ratings in this game work, which is somewhat taking the enjoyment out of it for me because the system the game employs seemingly makes it almost impossible to ever truly know the worth of some players. I have the combine scouting accuracy at its highest level, and x-factor off, and still I find that almost exclusively players I draft see their potential rating significantly decline post draft. This is over three different careers I have started and multiple drafts through the years in each, and with only probably one or two exceptions where a player retains their scouted potential (and no real example of where an average or bad player ends up being a diamond in the rough).

As an example, in my most most recent season I needed a franchise QB, and traded up to draft first overall at a big cost, because some rookie in the draft class blew his ratings out the park on virtually everything. I drafted him, he his potential rating was listed as 85 post draft, but by training camp it dropped to 58, and by the pre-season had dropped to barely 50.

In fact, this happens pretty much with every single first rounder I ever pick. Potential is huge, by the 2nd season it drops to average/barely good (weirdly, the only exceptions are always linebackers). And when you look at the scout history, its always the same scout rating them, so how can it realistically be so different, especially when Ive picked settings that by the games definition should guarantee combine ratings?