Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 09-22-2017, 02:55 AM   #1
Vince, Pt. II
Pro Starter

Living the Dream (An Advice Thread)

Hey all, been a while since I posted one of these. I have an opportunity coming up, and I am not at all sure what to make of it. The rundown:

I am currently "living the dream." I'm a business analyst for a large company.
  • I am paid well. Per basic Google searches I am comfortably above the median pay for my role.
  • I have great benefits. A pension and 401k matching, not to mention complete medical benefits.
  • An incredible schedule: four 10 hour shifts, Monday through Thursday.
  • I generally enjoy the work I do.

The cons:
  • Leadership is...not great here. I get very little support, and the team that I built and designed around having 6 people has been cut down to...just me. With the same workload.
  • We are currently going through some budget cuts; I am confident enough that I am safely employed that I wouldn't even consider it a "worry." You can't completely get rid of the thought, but it would be a tremendous surprise if I were let go.
  • My commute is pretty terrible. I live 45 miles away from the office, and while I can mostly avoid traffic...2 hours of driving per day when you're already working 10-13 hours on a workday gets old fast.

I am 36, engaged (wedding date not set yet, but most likely late next year), and live in a townhome five minutes from the house I grew up in that my fiance owns outright. We are not pregnant, have no children, and while we definitely want kids, we are hoping to wait a year or so after marriage (she's 30 right now).