Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 09-16-2008, 05:08 PM   #1
Suburban Rhythm
Pro Starter

The OFFICIAL 2008-09 NHL Thread

Rather than posting this in the Offseason thread, and since the Pens open camp tomorrow, play a preason game on Saturday, and open the regular season just into October...it was time for the OFFICIAL season thread.

One item of note in Pittsburgh:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pittsburgh Post Gazette
Therrien declined to say whether he will shift Jordan Staal, a center by trade, onto Evgeni Malkin's left wing, filling the void created by the departure of Ryan Malone, but the consensus of others inside the organization is that using Staal there is Plan A.

I agree with the move. A top six:

Fedetenko - Crosby - Satan
Staal - Malkin - Sykora

Looks alot better than

Dupuis - Crosby - Satan
Fedetenko - Malkin - Sykora

I actually would even prefer Staal play alongside Crosby, and Fedetenko taking Malones position.
And it is reasonable with Max Talbot able to play 3rd line minute, rather than Staal at 3rd line C.

Last edited by Suburban Rhythm : 09-16-2008 at 05:10 PM.
Suburban Rhythm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 05:24 PM   #2
watravaler
High School JV

The Blackhawks make the playoffs! Mark it down!
watravaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 07:11 PM   #3
Suburban Rhythm
Pro Starter

Ducks have placed D Mathieu Schneider on waivers.

He's got 1 year left at $5.75 and was pretty productive last year. Do LA and Atlanta still need to reach the cap floor?
Old 09-16-2008, 07:38 PM   #4
Neuqua
Pro Rookie

For the first time ever, I read an NHL Season preview magazine. Am going to try to make it out for my first ever hockey experience this year as well.