Home

A guide to reading defense and passing (long)

This is a discussion on A guide to reading defense and passing (long) within the All Pro Football 2K forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > NFL 2K > All Pro Football 2K
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 08-11-2007, 08:45 AM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 2
A guide to reading defense and passing (long)

I read a thread that asked how to read defense, so for the glory I'm starting a brand new thread on it. ^_^

2k8 is the most realistic football game ever created. IF I didn't believe that I wouldn't waste time teaching you how to play it. Keep in mind, I'm still learning the game myself(football not 2k8). If I make an error, please help me out. Everyone has some input when it comes to football. The game can be played in so many different ways. I am most familiar with the west coast offense, and so this guide will be based loosely on those concepts.

I have tried to apply this to madden before, it's pointless, it's all about money routes, exploits, arcade bs, and bad AI. The lack of a QB drop back system tied to the timing of passing routes in Madden is what makes me hate the game. And it's what makes 2k8 realistic. But enough about that crap.

The worst complaint that can be had about 2k8 is the AI doesn't always swat down passes you think it should. When in position, it does very well, so I think it's just a nitpick. You win or lose in this game because of how much you know about the game of football. You do not need great "stick skills" to win.

*If you are not going to invest time in practice mode, don't bother reading the rest of this*
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Step 1