Home

One of a Kind: The Strange Journey of Matthew Wood (2K15 MyCareer dynasty)

This is a discussion on One of a Kind: The Strange Journey of Matthew Wood (2K15 MyCareer dynasty) within the Basketball Dynasties forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Dynasty Headquarters > Basketball Dynasties
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 10-15-2014, 03:25 PM   #1
MVP

Trackball's Arena

OVR: 7
One of a Kind: The Strange Journey of Matthew Wood (2K15 MyCareer dynasty)

Difficulty: Superstar (may raise to HOF later)
Sliders: Simulation

This is a story I've wanted to tell for a while: the first NBA player to be a diagnosed autistic.

I'm really nervous and scared as I write this one--I've never written a dynasty thread before, not to mention being so open about my disability like this.

Oh, if you didn't know, in 1994 or so, I (the guy writing this) was diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome, which has recently been renamed by the DSM-5 to Autism Spectrum Disorder. As such, I figure I am uniquely qualified to create a player and give him this condition that I have.

However, because this is such a strange disorder which can make a guy act...differently from how the player is presented in the game, I will have to make some changes to the dialogue. However, obviously, the result will be the same whenever possible and practical.

This will be a dynasty following one man's journey through professional basketball. It won't be filled with HTML tables of who the league leaders are in any one category (though they could be mentioned on occasion). And, like Trekfan and his great dynasties, they will be almost completely text. I can't edit pictures, I don't have a video capture device, and I don't have a digital camera (though I may get one of those soon). Hopefully my writing skill will be able to carry the day.