Home

What's the Basis of a West Coast offense?

This is a discussion on What's the Basis of a West Coast offense? within the EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 07-19-2006, 10:11 PM   #1
Hall Of Fame

RubenDouglas's Arena

OVR: 28
What's the Basis of a West Coast offense?

Im using New Mexico and I see a bunch of random plays. whats the west coast offense philsophy? UNM ran a spread offense last year which had alot of options. i heard the QB say that hes happy that they are running less. I'd like to try and emulate their real style with my playcalling.. and im a big time amateur with football philsophy.

any ncaa help is appreciated
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 07-19-2006, 10:20 PM   #2
Rookie

morganic's Arena

OVR: 4
Re: What's the Basis of a West Coast offense?

There are a few keys to running the west coast.

The main one is using the short passing game to control the clock, sort of a replacement for the running game. QB takes quick drops and gets rid of the ball quickly. In most cases, there will be 5 receivers out on routes.
Old 07-19-2006, 10:22 PM   #3
All Star

RGmoney's Arena

OVR: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by RubenDouglas
Im using New Mexico and I see a bunch of random plays. whats the west coast offense philsophy? UNM ran a spread offense last year which had alot of options. i heard the QB say that hes happy that they are running less. I'd like to try and emulate their real style with my playcalling.. and im a big time amateur with football philsophy.

Good reading: http://football.calsci.com/WCOHistory.html
Old 07-19-2006, 10:30 PM   #4
All Star

OVR: 27