Home

Why is the playcalling AI so bad?

This is a discussion on Why is the playcalling AI so bad? within the EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 08-28-2008, 06:48 PM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 2
Why is the playcalling AI so bad?

Honestly, I have no idea how the source code for NCAA works, but I am a software developer and I would think playcalling AI would be one of the easier places to do some obvious stuff.

Why are all these teams with slow QBs continually trying to run the option? Why do they mismanage the clock so much late in the game?

I would love to hear what kind of things the AI actually looks at when picking plays. Supposedly the AI is smart enough to adjust if you keep picking the same play over and over again, but it's not smart enough to know that a QB with 70 SPD is not going to be able to outrun defenses?
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 08-28-2008, 07:03 PM   #2
Pro

ab2c4's Arena

OVR: 8
Re: Why is the playcalling AI so bad?

Eh, intelligent AI will probably be named as a new feature in a future version of the game.
Old 08-28-2008, 09:28 PM   #3
Pro

OVR: 5

Historically, the AI’s play calling in the NCAA & Madden Franchises have always sucked. Teams in the games have never had the same tendencies as their real life counterparts. Teams do when you sim games, but not when you play against the comp.