Home

4-2-5 Defense

This is a discussion on 4-2-5 Defense within the EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 01-03-2011, 11:51 PM   #1
Rookie

Savvy's Arena

OVR: 0
4-2-5 Defense

I am using this in my new dynasty, building up Rice's program based on speed using Florida's spread option and a 4-2-5 defense.

However, I've never used this defensive scheme before in NCAA 11 and notice a lot of holes in my zone coverage and QBs having ample time to throw even with blitz packages.

I have two questions:

1) What are the most effective plays in this playbook and in which formations are they found?

2) Are my problems more based on the terrible ratings Rice's defensive players have rather than poor play selection?
Penn State Nittany Lions
Real Madrid

Last edited by Savvy; 01-03-2011 at 11:56 PM.
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 01-04-2011, 01:25 AM   #2
MVP

BlastX21's Arena

OVR: 16
Re: 4-2-5 Defense

Having been a 4-2-5 user for a while, I can tell you that its a specialty playbook. It will shut down spread options and spread run attacks in general, and strongly limit regular options. It struggles against pro style teams that run the ball a majority of the time and against pass heavy spread teams.

In real life, the 4-2-5 shuts down spread passing attacks too, but not on this game. If your opponent comes out in a 4 WR set, the AI is flawed in a way to where you will likely see a linebacker who is supposed to be covering a WR deep inside the box rather than on top of his man, leaving him wide open. So, if your opponent comes out in 4 or 5 WR set, you should pick a dime formation and not 4-2-5. That should help a lot if you're giving up big gains in the air.