Home

Tips on running the option

This is a discussion on Tips on running the option within the EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 07-23-2012, 01:57 PM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 0
Tips on running the option

A few friends & I are starting a 4 star OD, and I am going with Georgia Tech because I am fascinated with the option play after watching Nebraska run it for so many years as I grew up. The problem is...I am not very good at the option run. I am okay, but I feel like there is a bunch fo room for improvement. Does anybody have any tips on running this offense better?

Thanks.
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 07-23-2012, 02:03 PM   #2
Rookie

8mileroad's Arena

OVR: 3
Re: Tips on running the option

Don't.

Seriously, don't. EA didn't program it right. In real life there are a set of reads for each play, and EA doesn't seem to know this.

I'll briefly explain them:
Midline Iso - QB reads the DT. If he collapses, the QB pulls it. If he doesn't, he hands off to the FB OVER THE ZERO HOLE. Unfortunately, you can't hand off over the zero hole this game, the FB just runs to the same hole that the QB would which is 1 or 2.
Triple Option - QB reads the backside DE. If he collapses, QB pulls it. If he doesn't, he hands off to the FB. The problem with this is, if you pull the ball out and start your option with your HB/WB, the DE tackles the QB half of the time which is entirely realistic. Also, the DE ends up getting blocked sometimes, too.
Veer Option - I'm not sure if this play is in the game, it might be called trap option or something, but it's basically a triple option (with the same reads) to the 3, 4, 5, or 6 hole. It doesn't work well for the same reason.