Home

How about a tips/teaching thread for people like me?

This is a discussion on How about a tips/teaching thread for people like me? within the EA Sports NHL Legacy forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Hockey > EA Sports NHL > EA Sports NHL Legacy
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 09-14-2010, 12:06 PM   #1
Rookie

Orange's Arena

OVR: 2
How about a tips/teaching thread for people like me?

I am a noob hockey fan, I have always dabbled in hockey video games since way back with Blades of Steel. But I have only recently really tried to learn about the sport and become a fan siince I have a home team, the Nashville Predators. But I don't have actual expericance to draw from, I have never played hockey. Many of us here have played some form of baseball, football, or basketball. And if we haven't, we have at least the knowledge that comes from following it all our lives.

But for me hockey is the new sport that I only began to care because my city has a team. And I do like it. But I don;t know the root of some things that might help me be a better gamer. I realize on D I am supposed to keep the opponent out of the slot, and try to cut off passing lanes. I am also not supposed to chase the puck into the corners. Now I do intercept a pass from time to time but I really think I should get more. So even though I am going to sound like a real idiot, where are the pass lanes exactly? Around the slot obviously, but is there some specifics I should look for, during specific offences?

And On offence, my skills are limited to bring the puck down, try to deke into the slot or pass around for a chance to shoot on goal. I would like to learn what is going on on specific plays like overlord, behind the net, and overlord, or is it overload.