Home

I asked Polygon to write about the input lag issue

This is a discussion on I asked Polygon to write about the input lag issue within the EA Sports NHL forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Hockey > EA Sports NHL
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 10-16-2015, 05:57 PM   #1
Rookie

BigDisk's Arena

OVR: 3
I asked Polygon to write about the input lag issue

Here's what I sent them. Hopefully somebody will write something about it and EA will be forced to AT LEAST release a statement about the lag that's been plaguing every game mode.

This probably won't be working, but I'm so pissed about how this game plays that I figured I'd give it a try.

Quote:
Hey there Polygon,

First of all, some context: I'm a huge hockey fan, and an even bigger NHL-series gamer. The first NHL game i've played was NHL 92, and i've been buying every version since 2003.

The game EA delivered this year - NHL16 - played great during the open beta, held in early august, but since release, the whole online experience has be *horrific*.

The issue is simple, yet complicated. In a couple of words: there is a huge input delay in every online game modes (online versus, HUT - NHL EA's cash cow, AND EASHL - the 6v6 league mode that made its comeback in this edition). The delay makes doing simple plays a chore, and the game just feels plain wrong and is extremely frustrating to play online.

EA-Burnaby took a big step forward this summer by testing their new game in an open beta... We all could finally play EASHL on this new generation of consoles... after waiting over a year, the feature was brought back! This was a huge marketing success for EA, by all accounts. The game played really good; it convinced my friends and I that the final product would be definitely worth it, so we all paid 80 canadian dollars to grab our copies of NHL 16.