Home

Help with Defense

This is a discussion on Help with Defense within the Madden NFL Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > Madden NFL Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 09-15-2014, 10:39 AM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 1
Help with Defense

I'm fairly new to madden so I know some of my defensive woes are due to being new to the game. However, when I play (offline vs CPU) it seems like whatever defense I play there is always a receiver wide open (no one within 5-10 yards) when he catches it.

The only way to stop the CPU is either sack the QB, or hopefully they run and I stuff the run. QB's (CPU) are all in the high 80s-90 completion % after I finish a game.

Do I need to adjust QB accuracy sliders or can anyone help me with defensive strategies?
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 09-15-2014, 11:18 AM   #2
Rookie

KickassJohnson's Arena

OVR: 3
Re: Help with Defense

The training drills are helpful for explaining coverages, what are you using a 4-3 or 3-4?

Do you pick the suggested play or one yourself? Sometimes running a base defense against 5-wide receivers isn't the best idea
Old 09-15-2014, 03:05 PM   #3
Rookie

OVR: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by KickassJohnson
The training drills are helpful for explaining coverages, what are you using a 4-3 or 3-4?

Do you pick the suggested play or one yourself? Sometimes running a base defense against 5-wide receivers isn't the best idea
I am using a 3-4 defense. When the CPU has 4 + WRS on the field I always go to a Nickel/Dime formation.
I'll have to check out the tutorial though, as I haven't really invested much time into that mode.
Old 09-16-2014, 02:34 PM   #4
MVP

Bondsfan's Arena

OVR: 8