Home

Help me call better defense

This is a discussion on Help me call better defense within the Madden NFL Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > Madden NFL Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 09-02-2021, 05:07 PM   #1
Windy City Sports Fan

Gagnon39's Arena

OVR: 25
Help me call better defense

Are there some YouTuber’s any of you all would suggest to learn what defenses to call in certain situation? I am a long time football fan, and I coached JV football for two years, but I’m by no means an expert. I think a lot of my issue playing defense is bad play calling.

I know the basics, about when to call nickel or dime, and matching up personnel. As well as the most obvious things about the differences between zones and man coverage. I just don’t know exactly why some of the specifics are in regards to, “hard flats,” etc., and when zone coverages turn into man. I’ve watched some videos but I’l love to become much more educated on defensive play calling.

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Operation Sports

Streaming on Twitch
https://www.twitch.tv/gagnon39
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 09-02-2021, 07:38 PM   #2
Dead!

CM Hooe's Arena

OVR: 45
Re: Help me call better defense

The pattern-matching zones in the game are:

- Cover 3 Match + Cover 3 Buzz Match (as long as each side of the offensive formation has two or fewer receivers outside of the tackles at the snap of the ball)

- Cover 4 Quarters + Cover 4 Palms (as long as each side of the offensive formation has three or fewer receivers outside of the tackles at the snap of the ball)

- Cover 6 / Cover 9 (as long as the Cover 4 side of the defense has three or fewer receivers outside of the tackles at the snap of the ball)