Home

Understanding the slot receiver

This is a discussion on Understanding the slot receiver within the Madden NFL Old Gen forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > Madden NFL Football > Madden NFL Old Gen
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 04-09-2013, 11:18 PM   #1
Pro

OVR: 8
Understanding the slot receiver

I'll prefix this by saying i'm still a novice when it comes to american football and the NFL in general. However, I LOVE the sport and have really started to love this version (13) of Madden!

So, how do you correctly use a slot receiver? What type of player should be in the slot typically?

I figure that whoever you put as 3rd on your WR depth chart will be your slot reciever. Correct?

I also think (although I really have no idea) that a tall guy in the slot is better than a short guy. Yes?

So right now I have Jacoby Jones 6'2'' and pretty speedy or Ramses Barden 6'6'' pretty slow but can catch the ball. I would never put Barden out wide, but would he be a great slot guy? Would it be worth investing the time with him whilst keeping Jones as a return guy and eventually replace him?

Any other tips on what the pros and cons of a slot guy are please chime in.

Cheers.
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 04-11-2013, 11:07 AM   #2
Rookie

OVR: 1
Re: Understanding the slot receiver

Ideally, you are looking for a route runner in the slot. Somebody that is "fast" but can run routes and make him look faster. This is why Welker is abusive in the slot. I see Jones as more of a #2 while Barden is more of a #2/4. Whoever has the best Route Running should probably go, but say Jones has 80 RR and Barden has 83, I would probably go with Jones.
Old 04-12-2013, 01:14 AM   #3
Pro

OVR: 8

Thanks for the reply. I also read that catch in traffic is a good attribute for a slot guy too.