The first batter flies out. 1 down.
I walk the second hitter. Runner on first.
The third batter hits a ground ball to second. I try to turn the double play and get out of the inning, but Cano overthrows Jeter and the ball ends up in left field. The play is ruled an "E4." The runner advances to third on the error. Now it's 1st and 3rd, still 1 out.
Enter Damaso Marte to face the lefty, Nick Markakis. He walks. Bases loaded, still 1 out.
David Robertson comes in and promptly forces in the runner from third with a bases loaded walk. Based STILL loaded. Still 1 out.
The next batter strikes out. Bases loaded, 2 outs.
The final batter fouls out. The inning ends. 3-1 Baltimore.
When I checked the box score, the error IS indeed charged to Cano...no hit is ruled on the play.
Burnett's line: 3 earned runs, 4 hits, 6 k...what!?
Now, I understand that you can NEVER assume the double play. But, the call on the field was an E4. Not single;E4.
The runner that scored only advanced to third because of the error. The ruling of the play ASSUMED that the runner would NOT have been safe if the throw had been made properly.
Should this have been ruled an earned run?


Comment