Home

Player Potential - Inflated Team Salaries

This is a discussion on Player Potential - Inflated Team Salaries within the MLB The Show forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Baseball > MLB The Show
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 05-23-2014, 01:16 AM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 0
Player Potential - Inflated Team Salaries

Hey. I skimmed through the forums to see if this has ever been addressed, but I don't think it has.

I'm the type of person who likes to play 10-20 years into a franchise. I play 10-25% of the games and simulate the rest. This is my first year playing the show (I had a 360 prior to PS4), and I've noticed a few things that really ruin the mode for me.

First off, I have downloaded the OS rosters, and I'm still having these problems. I consider myself pretty "baseball-savvy." I understand the MLB offseason and how/why teams manage their money.

Problem 1 - Too many players have unrealistically high potential.

I have taken a few different franchises into years 6,7, and 8, and in all instances every team in the league was over saturated with talent. Where as most teams in 2014 have 4-5 starters rated in the 70's, there are almost no starters rated in the 70's 5+ years down the road. Every team is loaded with position players with overall ratings from 80-95. There are close to no starting pitchers with overall ratings below 80. Most teams have 2 starting pitchers with 90+ overall ratings and some have 3. Realistically, any given year, there should be only 10-15 pitchers rated 90+.