Home

MLB: The Show 16 Strike Zone

This is a discussion on MLB: The Show 16 Strike Zone within the MLB The Show forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Baseball > MLB The Show
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 02-27-2016, 12:01 AM   #1
Rookie

Kevin82485's Arena

OVR: 2

I'm excited for MLB: The Show 16, and I'm curious if there has been any mention of any changes to the strike zone.

What I mean is that it seems as though in previous years if the ball was on the border, then over 50% of the ball had to be in the strike zone in order for it to be called a strike. This is with balls and strikes set to 100% accuracy.

Now, I'm no rules expert, but I feel as though I have a very good understanding of the rule book. If any portion of ball, even if it's a 1/16th of an inch, touches the border of the strike zone, then it is a strike.

As someone who is a MLB 2K convert where all border pitches were called strikes, this is one area of the game that has really annoyed me over the years. I feel like it shrinks the strike zone and makes pitching on the border too much of a challenge.

Maybe it is just the way that the strike zone is depicted that makes it confusing or I am misunderstanding something. Perhaps the new umpiring system will help with this?
Wisconsin Badgers

XBL: TheJudge24
PSN: UntalentedTalent

Last edited by Kevin82485; 02-27-2016 at 08:10 PM.
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 02-27-2016, 03:19 AM   #2
Pro

OVR: 5
Re: MLB: The Show 16 Strike Zone

I believe there is a setting for it. By default, it's setup so that umpires miss calls.
Old 02-27-2016, 08:10 AM   #3
RIP Ty My Buddy

nemesis04's Arena

OVR: 52