Home

Cheese>IQ

This is a discussion on Cheese>IQ within the NBA 2K Basketball forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Basketball > NBA 2K Basketball
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 04-19-2014, 10:49 AM   #1
Pro

OVR: 0
Cheese>IQ

I have been reading a lot of post where people think that playing smart is better then cheesing but that is absolutely not the case. The best way to win consistently is using smart cheese.
I am a coach and a basketball purist who also happens to share an intense passion for competitive gaming. With that said I am amazed at the lack of basketball IQ I find when playing this game online as the gameplay does not force an individual to play realistically/intelligently to be successful. Example I played someone yesterday that had a very good record and played beautifully (not something I see often) using the screen and roll game and making quick and excellent reads to the open players. However I still won that game very handily. Next up I played a player that played with seemingly no understanding of how to be successful in a team sport but the game would allow him to dribble force field his way to the basket and draw ridiculous fouls or just score over good defense, also allowing him to score on a ridiculously high amount of contested 3s and jumpers. On the other end I was working the ball using spacing/pickandroll/and ball movement and getting a layup/dunk or wide open shot nearly every possession yet the score continued to go back and forth. I am convinced that scripting exist in this game as that seems to be the trend in sports games lately to keep casual numbers high.