Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

Collapse

Recommended Videos

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Therebelyell626
    MVP
    • Mar 2018
    • 2892

    #1

    Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

    I’ll admit, I have always been a pro guy and don’t watch much college. But yesterday I had something weird happen that might be a bug, or just might be college footballs rule set.

    So game was tied 31 to 31 with 36 seconds left. They line up for the field goal to win the game. I somehow manage to get off and block the field goal. There team recovers and falls on the blocked kick. They somehow still have the ball and kick the game winning field goal to win 34-31. I thought if I blocked the kick even if they recovered it would be turnover. I can’t remember if it was 4th down or not, but do teams get to keep the ball if a field goal attempt is blocked and they recover?
  • chubbs86
    Just started!
    • Jul 2013
    • 1

    #2
    Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

    I believe the rule is that if it's less than 4th down and it's blocked and they recover it behind the line of scrimmage then they do keep possession.

    Comment

    • WeArePSU40
      Rookie
      • May 2024
      • 499

      #3
      Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

      Originally posted by Therebelyell626
      I’ll admit, I have always been a pro guy and don’t watch much college. But yesterday I had something weird happen that might be a bug, or just might be college footballs rule set.

      So game was tied 31 to 31 with 36 seconds left. They line up for the field goal to win the game. I somehow manage to get off and block the field goal. There team recovers and falls on the blocked kick. They somehow still have the ball and kick the game winning field goal to win 34-31. I thought if I blocked the kick even if they recovered it would be turnover. I can’t remember if it was 4th down or not, but do teams get to keep the ball if a field goal attempt is blocked and they recover?
      If a kick is blocked and lands behind the LOS and is picked up by a member of the kicking team and advanced across the first down marker, then it is a first down.

      Edit: Meant to add… or lands beyond the LOS but the defense touches it, then the ball is live but cannot be advanced (blocked kicks past the LOS are treated like punts).

      Otherwise if the kick is actually attempted, no matter the down, it should be your ball.
      Last edited by WeArePSU40; 07-25-2024, 02:20 PM.

      Comment

      • Therebelyell626
        MVP
        • Mar 2018
        • 2892

        #4
        Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

        Originally posted by WeArePSU40
        If a kick is blocked and lands behind the LOS and is picked up by a member of the kicking team and advanced across the first down marker, then it is a first down.

        Edit: Meant to add… or lands beyond the LOS but the defense touches it, then the ball is live but cannot be advanced (blocked kicks past the LOS are treated like punts).

        Otherwise if the kick is actually attempted, no matter the down, it should be your ball.
        That’s what I thought! So I am not crazy. Yeah it was really weird. Maybe just one of those one off bugs

        Comment

        • steelerfan
          MVP
          • Jun 2003
          • 4351

          #5
          Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

          Is this what happened?

          I didn't know about this until I watched this very game years ago. Maybe the rule is the same in college?

          For the second time this season, the Browns lost a game in extremely bizarre fashion.


          To summarize, the Steelers had a kick blocked on 2nd down. Since the ball never crossed the LOS (even on the kick) and Pittsburgh recovered, the Steelers retained possession.

          Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

          Comment

          • WeArePSU40
            Rookie
            • May 2024
            • 499

            #6
            Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

            Originally posted by steelerfan
            Is this what happened?

            I didn't know about this until I watched this very game years ago. Maybe the rule is the same in college?

            For the second time this season, the Browns lost a game in extremely bizarre fashion.


            To summarize, the Steelers had a kick blocked on 2nd down. Since the ball never crossed the LOS (even on the kick) and Pittsburgh recovered, the Steelers retained possession.

            Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk
            This might also be the college rule. If 4th down my earlier post applies and they have to advance it past the first down marker. If not then this is likely also true.

            Comment

            • Spartan Warrior
              Pro
              • Jun 2014
              • 586

              #7
              Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

              This happened to Iowa when they played Northern Iowa in 2009. Iowa was up 17-16 with a few seconds left. UNI lined up for the game-winning field goal, Iowa blocked it. It never crossed the line of scrimmage and UNI recovered it. There was still a second left on the clock so they had another chance to kick. But then Iowa blocked it again and won the game.

              Comment

              • NightOwl
                Rookie
                • Sep 2013
                • 332

                #8
                Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

                One that’s confusing me is the ball being placed on the 20 when a team misses a kick inside the 20. The CPU has missed an unreal amount of kicks from inside the five yard line and when I get the ball, it’s always on the 20. Is this correct?

                Comment

                • falcor1234
                  Rookie
                  • May 2013
                  • 446

                  #9
                  Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

                  Originally posted by NightOwl
                  One that’s confusing me is the ball being placed on the 20 when a team misses a kick inside the 20. The CPU has missed an unreal amount of kicks from inside the five yard line and when I get the ball, it’s always on the 20. Is this correct?


                  Yes that’s correct


                  Sent from my iPhone using Operation Sports

                  Comment

                  • NightOwl
                    Rookie
                    • Sep 2013
                    • 332

                    #10
                    Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

                    Originally posted by falcor1234
                    Yes that’s correct


                    Sent from my iPhone using Operation Sports
                    Thank you!

                    Comment

                    • WeArePSU40
                      Rookie
                      • May 2024
                      • 499

                      #11
                      Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

                      Originally posted by Spartan Warrior
                      This happened to Iowa when they played Northern Iowa in 2009. Iowa was up 17-16 with a few seconds left. UNI lined up for the game-winning field goal, Iowa blocked it. It never crossed the line of scrimmage and UNI recovered it. There was still a second left on the clock so they had another chance to kick. But then Iowa blocked it again and won the game.
                      I was going to post this exact thing, but I couldn’t remember if UNI got the second shot because of a penalty or not. I still am in disbelief about how lucky Iowa gets at Kinnick and all the weird voodoo that happens there.

                      Comment

                      • Therebelyell626
                        MVP
                        • Mar 2018
                        • 2892

                        #12
                        Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

                        Originally posted by steelerfan
                        Is this what happened?

                        I didn't know about this until I watched this very game years ago. Maybe the rule is the same in college?

                        For the second time this season, the Browns lost a game in extremely bizarre fashion.


                        To summarize, the Steelers had a kick blocked on 2nd down. Since the ball never crossed the LOS (even on the kick) and Pittsburgh recovered, the Steelers retained possession.

                        Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk
                        That’s exactly what might’ve happened. I think you nailed it my man. I thought field goal attempt on any down meant turnover on downs unless it was a successful attempt. I have NEVER in 35 years of watching football seen this scenario play out, so I had no idea this was actually a rule. Good to know it’s not a bug.

                        However, I don’t know if it’s a good thing that the CPU tried to kick the game winning field goal with 36 seconds left, instead of using the downs they had remaining to drain some clock before attempting the field goal. Maybe they had no timeouts left. I can’t remember

                        Comment

                        • Ghost Of The Year
                          T Bone
                          • Mar 2014
                          • 6424

                          #13
                          Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

                          I guess there are rules I don't maybe know either. Today I was losing 6-1. It happened early this morning and I'm having trouble remembering exactly what happened but end result ,I returned a failed after touchdown conversion 100 plus yards for a score. I don't remember blocking the kick but I must have because I can't imagine the CPU going for two after scoring first. So I always thought all defensive points made after failed PATs were two points. Even blocked kicks or bad snaps resulting in no kick I thought were two points. I didn't think it was possible to have a game where you only score one point. I've always thought it was zero, or two and up. Did EA get this right, is this the way it is IRL? AAnd if they did get it right, if a team does go for two but I return it all the way to the other endzone, is that two points for me or one?
                          Talk about things nobody cares.

                          Screw Discord. Make OS Great Again.

                          Comment

                          • fballturkey
                            MVP
                            • Jul 2011
                            • 2370

                            #14
                            Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

                            Originally posted by Spartan Warrior
                            This happened to Iowa when they played Northern Iowa in 2009. Iowa was up 17-16 with a few seconds left. UNI lined up for the game-winning field goal, Iowa blocked it. It never crossed the line of scrimmage and UNI recovered it. There was still a second left on the clock so they had another chance to kick. But then Iowa blocked it again and won the game.
                            Iowa’s just always been Iowa haven’t they
                            Teams: Minnesota Vikings, Cincinnati Reds, Marshall Thundering Herd, Virginia Tech Hokies (2010 alum)

                            Comment

                            • steelerfan
                              MVP
                              • Jun 2003
                              • 4351

                              #15
                              Re: Maybe a bug, or maybe I don’t understand college rules

                              Originally posted by Ghost Of The Year
                              I guess there are rules I don't maybe know either. Today I was losing 6-1. It happened early this morning and I'm having trouble remembering exactly what happened but end result ,I returned a failed after touchdown conversion 100 plus yards for a score. I don't remember blocking the kick but I must have because I can't imagine the CPU going for two after scoring first. So I always thought all defensive points made after failed PATs were two points. Even blocked kicks or bad snaps resulting in no kick I thought were two points. I didn't think it was possible to have a game where you only score one point. I've always thought it was zero, or two and up. Did EA get this right, is this the way it is IRL? AAnd if they did get it right, if a team does go for two but I return it all the way to the other endzone, is that two points for me or one?
                              You get two points for returning an opponent's two-point conversion attempt.

                              As for what you experienced in the game you described, it is called a defensive conversion safety. You can read about conversion safeties here:



                              Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

                              Comment

                              Working...