Operation Sports Forums

Operation Sports Forums (/forums/index.php)
-   EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Passing Game (/forums/showthread.php?t=131960)

sixthgradetyrant 07-12-2005 12:32 AM

Passing Game

This thread is my attempt to find out if anyone else out there has had as frustrating an experience with the passing game as I have. I'm NOT ripping the game or EA or just bitching and complaining. I'll list what I've seen that's made me go :y11: and/or :brickwall and I'd like others to comment on their own experiences. For me, the passing game is by far the weakest aspect of the game, and FOR ME, at this point, is really a potential dealbreaker.

For those who flame: I am a vet of Madden/NCAA from their inceptions, a solid AA/Heisaman caliber player, and always play cheese-free (i.e., I don't throw deep every third play on offense and blitz every down on defense).

First...No matter how much I tweak the sliders, my QB's (Wright, Quinn) throws are hardly EVER on the money. I love to integrate FB's and TE's into the passing game, and my favorite rout is the TE corner route (straight out 10 yards, 45-degree angle to the sideline). When my TE has position, I make sure my QB is standing still and try to lead the receiver so the ball is placed over his shoulder sideline-side. More often than not, the QB throws the ball low and to the INSIDE of the TE's body, leading to cheap INT's or INC's. Even with the crappy throw, the TE never comes back to the ball but goes into the fading-backwards-belly-catch animation, even when I take control manually. My point here: the default trajectory of QB throws is unrealistic and there seems to be minimal IF ANY preceision passing in the game.