Operation Sports Forums

Operation Sports Forums (/forums/index.php)
-   All Pro Football 2K (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   APF 2K8 the victim of Biased Media?!?!? Not even surprised! (/forums/showthread.php?t=216357)

linwoodc3 08-13-2007 03:43 PM

APF 2K8 the victim of Biased Media?!?!? Not even surprised!

http://www.gamasutra.com/view/featur...ia_how_pr_.php

Good read on how the video game media can be biased and "paid off" in a sense. Since I'm a video game journalist as well, I can attest to the fact that whenever you give a glowing review, they (publishers/developers) offer to fly you out to their headquarters for an "exclusive view" of next year’s title. Just wanted to let you guys know.
<O:p
Interesting thought is how come APF is receiving such lackluster reviews compared to the competition. Both games appear solid with its collection of flaws; however, it cannot be argued that APF received significantly lower scores across the boards. The superior game play battle is arguable but I say APF wins and the “competition” only gets the “nod” because of the Professional license. <O:p
<O:p
Remember when information was scarce and we were all dying to get every little bit of info on APF 2K8. Well, perhaps gaming journalists are taking their revenge for being left "out of the loop". The media can make or break you, and gaming developers/distributors/publishers know it. Does Take Two/2K sports get it? Aside from online forums (such as OS) dedicated to presenting objective reviews, can we trust the big revenue generating websites/magazines to be objective as well? You be the judge. <O:p

quietcool72 08-13-2007 03:49 PM

Re: APF 2K8 the victim of Biased Media?!?!? Not even surprised!

Here's my opinion.

If the reviewers spent any time playing online with APF2K8, the review score would go up. It plays like glass online. Well done.