Operation Sports Forums

Operation Sports Forums (/forums/index.php)
-   All Pro Football 2K (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   APF2K8 - the best demo ever? 10 thoughts (/forums/showthread.php?t=443991)

NipKauf8 09-17-2010 11:02 AM

APF2K8 - the best demo ever? 10 thoughts

This is my first post to the OS forums....

I've been playing APF2K8 for a few months now and I love this game for the same reasons everyone else does...it really is a refreshing pro football game. I regret passing judement when I saw it on the shelves, if I and many others would've supported this then maybe we all would be playing APF2k11, which would be awesome!

That said, I feel like I'm playing a demo. Here are ten general thoughts I have about the game...

1. It absolutely drive me nuts that after I assemble a team and hit the field that I end up with three players with number 26 in my starting secondary...anyone esle experience this? I can't believe they couldn't figure this out.

2. To me, there could have been more development with the league itself. When the game boots up you see a APFL sheild...why not have an intro or history (even fake) of the league?

3. ESPN NFL 2K5 gave us fantastic presentation and weekly update shows, why couldn't that have been done here? Instead of ESPN, just call it "The APFL Network."

4. No legacy mode? What?!!? I guess having Elway in a dynasty mode is odd, but I still think it could have been done if they would adopt the popular saying, "Legends Never Die." Basically, I'd like to see you start a legacy and actually DRAFT (not just select) your team. If you have a pre loaded legend, then his skills will never errode and that will put more emphasis on your drafting and development of generic players and determine how you run your offense/defense. Imagine trading Elway for Jim Harbaugh and picks or a generic player that is developing nicely?!?!