Operation Sports Forums

Operation Sports Forums (/forums/index.php)
-   EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Ask Coach/Calling your own plays (/forums/showthread.php?t=649249)

NewNapkin 08-04-2013 02:54 PM

Ask Coach/Calling your own plays

Hey guys, quick question.

I've been using "Ask Coach" and usually pick the middle play (unless it's like 4 verticals) for as long as I can remember. So I'm kind of curious, on how the majority of people call plays.

On offense, I feel like I won't get a good balance of run/pass, and I'm not playing how my team would play in real life. I also feel like I'll use certain plays too much (not always cheese plays). On the other hand, I feel like I'm not using my whole playbook, and I might use too many borderline money plays that the CPU coach calls for me when using Ask Coach.

On defense, I'm completely lost. I'm not good at using correct formations and such, and I'm for sure not good at playcalling based on the situation. It's just my lack of defensive IQ I suppose.

I guess what I'm asking here is, as a sim player, is "Ask Coach" the better option, or would it be better to just adjust and learn to call my own plays?

NoleFan 08-04-2013 03:19 PM

Like you, I think using ask coach is realistic in that during a game you don't look at the entire play book to call a play (my opinion). I typically go with what's called unless it's a play that I KNOW has a low success rate being that I'm the HC around here. :D

In some situations I take over the play calling still using ask coach as my pool of plays from which to choose.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Rumplebeanskin 08-04-2013 03:24 PM

Re: Ask Coach/Calling your own plays

On offence I typically call a play I like then no huddle the rest of the drive, so pick what play I want each down based on what is available.