Operation Sports Forums

Operation Sports Forums (/forums/index.php)
-   MLB The Show (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=515)
-   -   Help with hitting offspeed pitches (/forums/showthread.php?t=878321)

shegotgame 04-08-2016 11:11 AM

Help with hitting offspeed pitches

I'm not a baseball expert. I just enjoy playing the video game. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Is there a camera angle that is better for gauging speed? I'm tying my batter up in knots trying to swing at pitches that are not crossing the plate when I think they are.

Any tips?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

HartmanTeets6 04-08-2016 11:14 AM

Re: Help with hitting offspeed pitches

My biggest advice, which is opposite to real baseball, is to sit on off speed and adjust if you see fastball. Also, try to get an idea of what the pitcher throws. Some pitchers throw half off speed stuff, and it makes it easier to let a fastball by for a strike.

chuckm1961 04-08-2016 11:19 AM

One, find a camera setup that makes the pitcher appear larger on the screen.

Two, train yourself to watch the pitch OUT OF THE PITCHER'S HAND very carefully.

Three, go to Sliders and turn down Fastball speed and turn up Offspeed Pitch speed ... thus sorta cheating and decreasing the speed differential between those pitches.

Four, figure out what offspeed pitches hurt you worst and strategize to deal with it. For example, I'm a sucker for low curves and changes so I have my camera set up to prioritize reading low pitches.

jada855 04-08-2016 11:31 AM

* Try the MLB 15 Camera

* Patience is what it's all about I play on HOF and I'm okay with striking out because that's what happens in real life not everyone can hit a 97mph fast ball. HOF feels very realistic in that manner.

* Adjust the timing slider to the right this might help.

* Adjust the pitch speed slider to the left will help you see the pitch better.

* Learn to look for the pitch break

* Adjust the difficulty or use dynamic difficulty