Operation Sports Forums

Operation Sports Forums (/forums/index.php)
-   NBA 2K Basketball (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=497)
-   -   2K Doesn't Teach You How To Play Their Game (/forums/showthread.php?t=953494)

Hustle Westbrook 06-05-2019 01:48 PM

2K Doesn't Teach You How To Play Their Game

And that's a problem imo. Long read ahead.

I mentioned it before in the drop step thread but I picked up Mortal Kombat 11 about a month and a half ago and while it's not my first fighting game, it's the first one I really want to get good at, not tournament level, but competent enough to hold my ground online.

Naturally, since I'm new to the game, I'm a complete scrub, so the first place I'm heading towards is practice mode. I was absolutely blown away by how in-depth their tutorial mode and practice mode. Obviously the beginner stuff was good to learn but I was really blown away at the fact that they went into the more advanced fighting game mechanics such as frame data, spacing, meter management, pressure, punishing, safe and unsafe attacks.

What really got me was just how awesome their practice mode was. Quick list of things you can do in it:

-Set up a dummy player to fight back on any difficulty levels
-Have the dummy record 4 different actions (such as combos) and have them replay it back randomly so you can practice defending against it
-Set the dummy to block randoms strings to practice hit confirming
-Have the dummy do wakeup attacks

Now most of you don't even know what half of that nonsense means and I could go on and on but that's not the point. The point is as a guy whose main game is NBA 2K I think to myself where are all of those features for this game?

Surely the game of basketball is at least half as deep as a Mortal Kombat fighting game but our tutorial modes aren't anywhere close to what that game is?