Operation Sports Forums

Operation Sports Forums (/forums/index.php)
-   NBA 2K Basketball Rosters (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=498)
-   -   NBA2K22 Roster Project: 1984-85 Season (PS5) (/forums/showthread.php?t=992261)

jimbo3772 09-11-2021 07:22 PM

NBA2K22 Roster Project: 1984-85 Season (PS5)

I had been working on custom rosters for the 1984-85 season for 2K21 on the PS5 but got a very late start due to it taking so long to get a PS5. So I paused my work on that project and decided I'd pick it back up again on 2K22. I had 5 of the 23 teams (Sixers, Celtics, Lakers, Bucks and Bulls) basically done so I'm in the process right now of transferring that data over to 2K22 and then I'll start in on finishing the remaining teams.

As someone who grew up watching a lot of NBA basketball and collecting basketball cards and playing NBA simulation board games in the 80s, I know these players well. However, this roster also involves many hours of research and viewing information, videos and pictures of players and testing, testing, testing to make sure the players and teams play like they should. But a big thanks is also owed to MJWizards, Clutch0z, and ojandpizza for their custom rosters and CAPs over the last few years (I've learned a lot from playing with their rosters and studying what they've done), and also thanks to Fidel1978 and bigdougswan for their excellent rosters on 2K21 with 80's teams. Undoubtedly, some of their hard work will be found in some of the CAPs in my roster. Although I am doing full custom edits on all players, it definitely saves time on some CAPs when you have a good, high quality starting point.

I don't have a time estimate yet on when I will be able to complete the remaining teams, but I will periodically update my progress on the project here. The project will include:
  • Full, complete 84-85 rosters with CAPS for any players not in the game
  • Accurate info, jersey numbers, shoes and accessories for all players