Home

Any tips for a total newbie?

This is a discussion on Any tips for a total newbie? within the OOTP Baseball forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Baseball > OOTP Baseball
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 04-06-2018, 11:20 PM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 0
Any tips for a total newbie?

Quick backstory: started playing The Show a few months ago, have considered using Franchise mode there but I am having fun playing RTTS and I've read about issues with that mode. Also, I am going to be traveling this summer and I am not taking the PS/4 with me. I have a Surface Pro and thought OOTP might be a good way to enjoy what I am told is an excellent baseball management mode and "scratch the baseball itch" while on the road.

I haven't bought it yet, but I plan to. However, when I look at it, it seems incredibly complex. Is this the sort of thing where I can just dive in and the game will guide me and it all works out? Or are there any things I should know to avoid making mistakes I'll regret and having to start over multiple times?

I'm assuming the general concept is "pick a team and build it to greatness as the GM" but don't know anything beyond that.

Any tips much appreciated. Thanks!
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 04-07-2018, 12:11 AM   #2
Go Cubs Go

WaitTilNextYear's Arena

OVR: 18
Re: Any tips for a total newbie?

If you want a simple, pick-up and play type of game that you can dabble in for a short while, this is probably not your jam. I also wouldn't consider it the type of game where the game "will guide you and everything will work out." The amount of depth and options is incredible and deep. It will take you several hours just to get the hang of it. You'll also have a lot of questions that you'll only be able to answer by trying it out. Might not be your cup of tea if you want something really simple and quick to play here and there.