Home

HDR colors are dark and desaturated on TV

This is a discussion on HDR colors are dark and desaturated on TV within the Madden NFL Football PC forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > Madden NFL Football > Madden NFL Football PC
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 08-14-2018, 08:47 AM   #1
MVP

icicle22's Arena

OVR: 7
HDR colors are dark and desaturated on TV

So first of all I am a professional video editor and as such have a good understanding of SDR vs HDR. I have a Samsung Ks8000 and watch HDR content and game in HDR on my Xbox One all the time. The issue I am seeing is probably a Madden PC issue or a Windows 10 issue but when I hook up my PC to the Ks8000 it looks great in SDR. As soon as I launch Madden it forces HDR and the image is quite dark and colors are bland.

I have been able to experiment with Reshade and bring the levels back up and add color and make the image "pop" quite a bit. In fact when I toggle it on/off it looks like night and day.

So I pause the game and load my Madden 19 EA Access on my Xbox One X and it looks fantastic compared to the PC version. The colors are crisp, the lighting for the same exact game/time of day/weather is significantly brighter. Heck it almost seems to pop "too much".

Is anybody else seeing this? If I play the game on my PC monitor (no HDR) it looks pretty good but maybe a little dark. Colors are fine though. I wish I could force the HDR off but Madden is the boss and turns it back on in Windows as well as forcing the TV to change despite me explicitly turning of "deep color mode" on the specific HDMI port.

Also...I have a cheap LG 40" 4K I use as a test monitor that has HDR and it acts exactly the same so this is probably not a monitor issue.